Author Archives: Mike Michalak

They keep stats for tipsy online ordering

They keep stats for tipsy online ordering

Some people argue that different types of alcohol makes them feel different ways, and the results of a new survey seem to back that theory up. Florida-based rehab facility Archstone Recovery Center surveyed 1,094 Amazon shoppers who made purchases while intoxicated. They found that on average, gin drinkers who bought the items in their virtual…Read more »

Now THIS Is Interesting Legislation

Now THIS Is Interesting Legislation

With all the Russian wrangling going on, a Supreme Court Justice to approve (or not) and numerous other things that lead the network newscasts, whether they deserve to or not, along comes this little nugget from Washington. Wisconsin US Senator Tammy Baldwin introduced a bill to make sure ALL state residents can watch Packer games,…Read more »

July 4th Factoids

July 4th Factoids

How we’re celebrating the Fourth of July in 2018: Some 219 million Americans plan to celebrate the Fourth of July, according to a survey by the National Retail Federation.  Americans are expected to spend $6.9 billion on cookouts and picnics as they celebrate Independence Day this year, down from $7.1 billion in 2017. Two-thirds of those surveyed plan to…Read more »

All For Dad

All For Dad

Five ways fatherhood changes a man’s brain, according to LiveScience.com:    —Dad’s brain looks more like mom’s. Taking care of a child reshapes a dad’s brain, causing it to show the same patterns of cognitive and emotional engagement that are seen in moms. —Dads experience hormonal changes along with moms. Studies in animals and people show that…Read more »

There Are Idiots Everywhere

There Are Idiots Everywhere

Roseanne Barr doesn’t have a lock on being stupid. Veteran punk band NOFX is facing strong criticism after making callous remarks about the horrific massacre that killed 58 people and injured hundreds of others at the Route 91 Harvest Festival on October 1, 2017. While performing at the Punk Rock Bowling & Music Festival in Vegas this past Sunday,…Read more »

What It’s All About

What It's All About

It’s the Memorial Day weekend, commonly known as the unofficial start of summer and often forgotten for what it’s really about. Memorial Day comes to us from the Civil War era, instituted by Northern Army General JOHN LOGAN, who, back in 1868, ordered that a day be set aside to decorate the graves of the war dead and to…Read more »

Yeah, THAT wedding info…

Yeah, THAT wedding info…

PRINCE HARRY and MEGHAN MARKLE’s wedding on Saturday will begin at noon London time, which means 1 am in Hawaii; 4 am in Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Seattle, Phoenix and Vancouver; 5 am in Denver and Calgary; 6 am in Chicago and Dallas; and 7 am in New York City, Washington, DC, Miami, Montreal and Toronto.…Read more »

Channel Surfing?

The big news over the weekend was (of course) which shows the networks were dropping and what new shows they were picking up. We have the breakdown by networks, below. But the big news was that NBC picked up “Brooklyn Nine Nine” after the series was dropped by FOX. See the story in NBC, below. CBS: CBS cancelled JUDD HIRSCH and JERMAINE FOWLER’s sitcom,…Read more »